User Role Management

User Role Management feature helps a system administrator to manage the user actions, roles and access privileges.

For instance, using the User Role Management feature, the system administrator can build a user role by specifying which modules he/she can access and/or manage.

Predefined User Roles Table

Title

Definition

Root

User with the highest authority to manage the entire system. The privileges of the root role cannot be edited.

Reseller

User with authority to manage all modules of its own company and sub-companies. The privileges of the Reseller role cannot be edited.

Company Admin

A role that can manage all modules of its own company profile. The privileges of the Company Admin role cannot be edited.

Company User

The role that can display all modules for your own company profile. The privileges of the Company User role cannot be edited.

User Role Management Options

Figure 1. User Role Creation Page

The table below describes the options using User Role Management.

Title

Definition

Role Title

Type a name for the new role to be created.

Description

Type a description of the new role to be created.

Privileges

None:

The user will not see the relevant page in the menu.

Read:

The user will view the relevant page in the menu but cannot take any action.

Write:

The user will view the relevant page in the menu and can take actions.

Unrestricted Pages:

Any user can view the pages listed here without any authorisation.

Configuring User Role Management

In the sample below, we have created an example system user role, and we will restrict the privileges of this user. We will authorise the user's access and privileges like;

  • not viewing (None),

  • only viewing (Read),

  • and viewing and taking action (Write).

Figure 2. Creating a New User Role

Like in the screenshot below, now you can create a new role and set its privileges to view or use modules.

Figure 3. Defining a New User Role
Figure 4. Saving the New User Role

Once the privileges are defined for this group, click on the Save.

See the New Role in the screenshot below:

Figure 5. The New Role Created

Adding Users to the Roles (Setting-up Roles for System User)

After we have created a role group, we add users to this role.

Go to Company> System Users and find out the relevant user and click the Edit icon. See the screenshot below.

Figure 6. Setting the Role for a System User

Then, you can add the relevant user to the role group you have created using the Role option in the right menu.

Figure 7. Selecting the Role for the User

Testing the User Role (Write)

Let's test whether the user we assign a role has really the access privileges we specified.

After logging in to Keepnet Dashboard with the user name and password of the relevant system user, you should see the modules you have given access to. For instance, we only have given access and usage privilege for Phishing Simulator, and the other modules have disappeared on the left side of the Dashboard. See Figure 8.

Figure 8. Only Phishing Simulator Module is viewed on Dashboard

To test whether the use privileges, simply click on the Phishing Simulator>Phishing Scenarios - based on the privileges we have defined, it is clear that the system user is able to manage this page like Deleting, Previewing, Editing, Sending.

Figure 9. The system user is able to manage this page

Testing the User Role (Read)

Now, we will change the user group privileges- changing them from “Write“ to “Read" and then test them. This will also help us to see the differences between “Read” and “Write” privileges.

In the main menu, click the Company> System Users. Then, after clicking on the Roles tab, we find the group we created and click the Edit icon. Then we change the options that we have previously set as “Write" to the "Read” and saved the page.

Figure 10. Changing User Roles

You need to log out and re-enter the system to see the changes. Click on Phishing Simulator>Phishing Scenarios in the main menu, and you will see that the system user can view the Phishing Scenarios page but can not take actions like Deleting, Previewing, Editing, Sending.

For instance, if you try to delete a training template, you receive an error like the following screenshot.

Figure 11. Actions like Deleting, Previewing, Editing, Sending is not Possible